Our History

Kidsafe was first established in 1979 as the Child Accident Prevention Foundation of Australia (CAPFA). State divisions were established soon after. The name Kidsafe was adopted nationally in 1993. In July 2003, the Foundation adopted a federated structure, with each of the state branches becoming independently Incorporated Associations.

Kidsafe Australia’s state branches are now:

Kidsafe ACT (Inc)
Kidsafe New South Wales (Inc)
Kidsafe Northern Territory (Inc)
Kidsafe Queensland (Inc)
Kidsafe South Australia (Inc)
Kidsafe Tasmania (Inc)
Kidsafe Victoria (Inc)
Kidsafe Western Australia (inc)

Since the establishment of Kidsafe, the number of child deaths and hospitalisations has more than halved. Injuries are the leading cause of death in Australian children aged one to fourteen, accounting for nearly half of all deaths in this age group.

Share on social media